All smoke detectors sold in New York State after April 1, 2019 are required to be powered by a 10-year, sealed, non-removable battery, or hardwired to the home.
Homeowners and landlords will soon need to swap out their smoke detectors for upgraded 10-year sealed models, thanks to a new New York State law going into effect this year. Before selling or renting homes and apartments in the state, they need to be upgraded by the property owner.
The law sates that April 1, 2019 all new or replacement smoke detectors in New York State must be powered by a 10-year, sealed, non-removable battery or hardwired to the home and that Licensees should not distribute smoke detectors with removable batteries to clients or customers after April 1, 2019.
Like all safety alarms, 10-year sealed smoke alarms should still be tested at least once each year using the button on the front of the unit to ensure they are working properly.